Yellow Shafted Northern Flicker

This bird was sitting on the ground all slumped over last Sunday. I could tell it was a northern flicker but had no clue if something was wrong with it. Looking through my long lens I could see the bird’s eyes were open and bright and before long it flew to a different spot. Not many seconds passed before it was bent to the side again. Several minutes later it began to preen and then flew to a nearby oak tree to continue its preening. Birding friends tell me it was sunning. 

Img_0164_c1_sig

Img_0169_c1_sig

Img_0191_c1_sig

Img_0194_c1_sig

Img_0239_c1_sig

Img_0254_c1_sig

Img_0264_c1_sig

Img_0266_c1_sig

Img_0372_c1_sig

About Beverly Everson Photography

I'm a photographer in southwest Alabama. I love to photograph people, nature, wildlife and just about anything! God created a beautiful world and I bring you a fresh look at it every single day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yellow Shafted Northern Flicker

  1. Rich Leighton says:
  2. Rich Leighton says:

    Suberb photos!!!!! (I am sooooo jealous!) 🙂

  3. Beverly Everson says:

    Thanks! This guy was just out in our yard! I got lucky!!

Leave a Reply

