Shaina and Beverly’s Excellent Adventure

Last year @rangerShaina told me about her trip to Santee Coastal Wildlife Management Area on South Carolina's coast. We were friends on Twitter and she had recently moved to the Charleston, SC area where my daughter and her husband live. It sounded like a great place to take pictures the next time we were in Charleston but I asked Shaina if she was available and willing to go along with me to watch my back. Her description of the wildlife at the WMA sounded intriguing but also scary! She readily agreed to go with me so we anticipated our trip and visit together for an entire year. I was not disappointed! Shaina is such a great lady; we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know each other better as well as shooting on a gorgeous fall day. 

I've always been on the lookout for alligators but haven't seen many. They are often advertised but seldom seen in my neck of the woods. That is definitely NOT the case at the Santee! I was so thankful to have Shaina's company!!! We made our way through a few trails and were fortunate to see a good many birds. We heard many more. Then we got to the gator area…!! We were on a narrow dirt road with water on either side of us. I spotted this large gator and was amazed at his size. I estimate it was about 12 feet long but, of course, I forgot my tape measure! LOL We saw many fresh tracks from gators crossing the little dirt road so we knew they were there and active. Shaina wanted us to go further down the road to where she knew we would see more. Sure enough, there were five or six on a finger of ground not far from our trail. As soon as they all began to get into the water and come our way I was done! It was seriously scary (for me at least) but I wouldn't have missed it for anything. Who knows what was further down that road. Maybe next time I'll be brave enough to find out but I do not plan to go alone!!!

Please read Shaina's blog post about our trip: Beverly and I go to the Santee.

Img_7490_c1

Img_7507_c1_sig

Img_7522_c1_sig

Img_7541_c1_sig

Img_7553_c2_sig

Img_7646_c1_sig

Img_7723_c1_sig

Img_7756_c1_sig

Img_7768_c1_lm_sig

Img_7782_c1_sig

Img_7793_c1_sig

Img_7810_c1_sig

Img_7813_c1_sig

Img_7824_c1_sig

Img_7830_c1_sig

Img_7841_c1_sig

Img_7848_c1_sig

Img_7870_c1_sig

Img_7890_c1_sig

Img_7902_c1_sig

Img_7920_c1_sig

Img_7931_c1_sig

Img_7935_c1_sig

Img_7941_c1_sig

Img_7954_c2_sig

Img_8014_c1_sig

Img_8018_c1

About Beverly Everson Photography

I'm a photographer in southwest Alabama. I love to photograph people, nature, wildlife and just about anything! God created a beautiful world and I bring you a fresh look at it every single day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shaina and Beverly’s Excellent Adventure

  1. Sue Tittle-Street says:

    Awesome images Beverly! And I adore Shaina, she is such a kind and intelligent woman. I’m so glad you got to meet her and had such a wonderful experience. Bless u for sharing your wonderful self and talent with the world Beverly, you inspire me!

  2. Linda Rockwell says:

    What a wonderful adventure! What wonderful photos! Don’t you just love meeting Twitter friends? They’re always better than you thought they’d be!

  3. Ros says:

    What beautiful photos!

  4. Samokhafalof alain says:
  5. Samokhafalof alain says:

    Stunning image bravo

Leave a Reply

