Cold Day At Gator Lake

Gator Lake is part of the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge in south Alabama. A photographer friend and I made a trip down there yesterday morning. It was very cold but the wind was the worst. We hiked about a mile to the lake and around to the observation tower. It was my day to plan our trek and I had planned for us to also walk on to the beach and make a 4 mile loop back to the car. Well, by the time we got to the lake I was ready to go home!!!! I was frozen despite dressing for the weather. Thankfully, we finally saw a bird; a great blue heron was out in the water looking for fish. I photographed that one heron as if it were the best thing ever; never mind it was a half mile away! I was determined to go home with some photos!! The wind died down temporarily and it was almost pleasant. All of a sudden there was a big ruckus and I told Phyllis, "I hear a kingfisher." Then I saw the bird and changed my mind. I was confused and finally figured out the problem. It sounded like a kingfisher but it was huge!!! I've never seen one that big. About that time the wind started up and we shuffled back to the car. It was not a pleasant day to be out taking pictures. We have great admiration for photographers who brave numbing cold and excruciating conditions to get that one spectacular shot! 

Img_8555_c1_sig

Img_8559_c1_sig

Img_8612_c1_sig

Img_8616_c1_sig

Img_8619_c1lm_sig

Img_8629_c1_sig

Img_8638_c1_sig

Img_8691_c1_sig

Img_8705_c1_sig

Img_8748_c1_sig

Img_8800_c1_sig

Img_8833_c1_sig

Img_8841_c1_sig

About Beverly Everson Photography

I'm a photographer in southwest Alabama. I love to photograph people, nature, wildlife and just about anything! God created a beautiful world and I bring you a fresh look at it every single day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold Day At Gator Lake

  1. eileen says:

    Beautiful photos, it looks like a great place to visit.

  2. Samokhafalof alain says:

    Amazing image.

Leave a Reply

